Videos and Podcasts

Gawad Plaridel 2013 awarded to Pete Lacaba

Jose Maria “Pete” Flores Lacaba (2013, Print) Jose “Pete” Lacaba received the ninth U.P. Gawad Plaridel in 2013 for his dedication to the profession of writing. Pete Lacaba is credited for chronicling and interpreting the Filipino struggle for social transformation, independence, and progress during the 1960s and 1970s through the now classic Days of Disquiet, Nights of Rage collection and dozens of articles in newspapers and magazines. He also wrote poetry, fiction, essays, feature articleso , translations, and adaptations that raised the bar of excellence for literature and literary journalism. His screenplays for Sister Stela L. and Kapit sa Patalim: Bayan Ko pressed social issues that transcend generations. His editing and attention to detail distinguished and lent prominence and significance to some of the best writing that has been done and have since become the standard in the practice of journalism in the Philippines.

Gawad Plaridel 2015 awarded to Ricky Lee

Ricardo Lee (2015, Film)

Gawad Plaridel 2012 awarded to Rosa Rosal

Florence “Rosa Rosal” Danon-Gayda (2012, Television) In 2012, the eight U.P. Gawad Plaridel was given to Ms. Florence “Rosa Rosal” Danon for her contribution to the Philippine television industry, particularly in affecting media for public service. She was cited for using her fame to raise public consciousness through television about donation of blood, medicine, food to the needy, the prevention of AIDS, dengue, and other life threatening diseases; for her integrity and compassion in ensuring that help reaches those who need them directly, immediately, and unconditionally; for exemplifying the public service program that addresses financial and social problems of the poor without encouraging dependency and mendicancy; and for touching the lives of the poor through her kindness, service, care, and love.

Gawad Plaridel 2011 awarded to Lola Sela

Eloisa “Lola Sela” Canlas (2011, Radio) The seventh U.P. Gawad Plaridel was given to Eloisa C. Canlas for writing, acting in, hosting, and producing a range of dramas for radio that developed the form into a vehicle relevant to the understanding and evaluation of the contemporary Filipino experience. She was cited for upholding the highest standards of excellence and professionalism in radio; for daring to focus the radio drama on such current issues as gender equality and the plight of Overseas Filipino Workers; and for unselfishly sharing with the next generations of radio talents her skills, experience, and insights into a constantly changing profession thereby assuring the radio drama of a constant supply of talent, as well as of its own survival and continuous evolution.

Gawad Plaridel 2009 awarded to Kidlat Tahimik

Kidlat Tahimik (2009, Independent Film) In 2009, the Council of Advisers unanimously chose Mr. Kidlat Tahimik for his outstanding contributions in independent filmmaking. He was recognized for showing excellence in the art and craft of cinema; for his pioneering efforts in making the global film audience aware of the existence of independent filmmaking in our country; for his courage in presenting and distributing films without relying on any form of commercial distribution; for inspiring succeeding generations of Filipino filmmakers to follow his example and aim for the standard that he and the international audience have set; for demonstrating a high level of public service through his continued mentoring of younger filmmakers in various fora, conferences, and festivals; and for exhorting them to listen to their “inner duwende” and staying true to their artistic vision.