Videos and Podcasts

Gawad Plaridel 2008 awarded to Pachico Seares

Pachico A. Seares (2008, Community Print) The 2008 U.P. Gawad Plaridel was given to Atty. Pachico A. Seares for his outstanding contributions to the community print media industry; his steering of Sun.Star Cebu and Sun.Star Superbalita (Cebu) to become the readership and advertising market leaders in the entire country; his continuing advocacy of issues that serve community interest; his adopting and implementing journalism values that serve as example to Sun.Star affiliate papers in their respective areas; and his inspiration to the community and regarding the people as citizens who can help the community are the qualities that embody a true community print media practitioner fit to be emulated and honored.

Gawad Plaridel 2007 awarded to Cheche Lazaro

Cecilia L. Lazaro (2007, Television) In 2007, the committee unanimously chose Ms. Cecilia “Cheche” L. Lazaro for her outstanding contributions to the local television industry; for her excellence and versatility in the field of television broadcasting as a broadcast journalist, producer, and media educator; and for producing critical and uncompromising programs that raised the standards of Philippine broadcast journalism.

Gawad Plaridel 2006 awarded to Tiya Dely

Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo (2006, Radio) The 2006 U.P. Gawad Plaridel was given to Ms. Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo. She was chosen for her excellence and versatility in the field of radio broadcasting as a host, actress, writer, director, producer, and singer; her unblemished reputation and credibility as a broadcast practitioner; her advocacy of Filipino talent and the Philippine performing arts; her conscious and consistent efforts to instill Filipino values and propagate the proper use of the national language among her listeners; and her ability to reach out not only to the elite but also to mass audiences across the archipelago.

Gawad Plaridel 2005 awarded to Vilma Santos

Rosa Vilma Santos (2005, Film) Ms. Rosa Vilma Santos received the second U.P. Gawad Plaridel in 2005. She was chosen for her consummate artistry in crafting and creating her varied cinematic roles; her courage in choosing roles which bring to the public attention an astounding range of female experiences whose stories have the effect of raising or transforming the consciousness of women; her commitment to truth in playing maverick characters which dared to speak the truth in a period of intense political repression and reprisal; and for her brilliant career which saw her grow from popular icon to professional actor through self-discipline and tireless honing of her craft, thereby becoming a role model for fellow actors in the industry.

Gawad Plaridel 2004 awarded to Eugenia Duran-Apostol

Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, Print) In 2004, the judges unanimously voted for Ms. Eugenia Duran-Apostol to receive the first U.P. Gawad Plaridel in recognition of her groundbreaking efforts in the publication of the Mr. and Ms. Special Edition, the Philippine Daily Inquirer and the Pinoy Times which were cited as important contributions to print journalism, the women’s movement, and Philippine democracy. Similarly, her founding of and active participation in civic-oriented organizations, as well as her awards and achievements in the local and international scene, contributed to her unanimous choice as the 2004 awardee.